# The Borough of McKees Rocks 2020 Reorganization Meeting Minutes January 6, 2020

#### **Pledge of Allegiance**

#### Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Council (President) Paul Krisby. Roll call requested with Council Joe Mixter, Council Sarah Harvey, Council Craig Myers, Council (Vice-President) Kathy Evich, Council (President) Paul Krisby, Council Leslie Walker, and Mayor Jack Muhr. Borough Manager Ruth A. Pompey, Administrative Assistant LeeAnn Wozniak, and Solicitor Lisa Coulatti, of Weiss Burkhardt Kramer, LLC were present as well.

## **Oaths of Office**

District Justice Bruce A. Boni, administered the Oath(s) of Office to all newly elected and reelected Borough officials, as follows:

- 1. Elizabeth Delgado, Ward 3
- 2. Charles Maritz, Ward 3
- 3. Arthur Brinza, Ward 3
- 4. Craig Myers, Ward 1

## **Reorganization of Council**

A motion was made by Council Maritz and seconded by Council Walker to elect Solicitor Lisa Coulatti as the temporary Reorganization Chairperson. Solicitor Coulatti opened the floor for nominations of Council President. Motions were made as follows: Council Mixter to nominate Council Krisby (accepted), Council Delgado to nominate Council Harvey (accepted), and Council Harvey to nominate Council Maritz (declined). A motion was made by Council Maritz and seconded by Council Harvey to close nominations for Council President. Roll call requested, resulting in 7 voting (Mixter, Myers, Evich, Krisby, Walker, Maritz, Brinza) in favor of Council Krisby and 2 voting (Harvey, Delgado) in favor of Council Harvey as Council President. Motion carries for Council Krisby as Council President.

President Krisby now presided over the meeting and asked for nominations for Council Vice-President. Motions were made as follows: Council Mixter nominated Council Evich (accepted) and Council Delgado nominated Council Harvey (accepted). A motion was made by Council Delgado and seconded by President Krisby to close nominations for Council Vice-President. Roll call requested, resulting in 7 (Mixter, Myers, Evich, Krisby, Walker, Maritz, Brinza) voting in favor of Council Evich and 2 (Harvey, Delgado) voting in favor of Council Harvey as Council Vice-President. Motion carries for Council Evich as Council Vice-President.

#### Administrative Appointments and Reappointments

A motion was made by Council Myers and seconded by Council Walker to appoint/reappoint the listed individuals to the listed positions as follows:

i. Ruth A. Pompey as Borough Manager/Secretary/Treasurer/Pension Administrator/Right to Know Officer

ii. LeeAnn Wozniak as Assistant Borough Secretary and Assistant Right to Know Officer iii. Mr. John Stahl as Building Code Official/Zoning Officer iv. Mr. Thomas McAllister as Code Enforcement Officer

v. Mr. Donald V. Baird III as Emergency Operations Management Coordinator.

Council Delgado asked Solicitor Coulatti if grouping individual appointment/reappointment(s) as one motion is permitted, as Council has not voted this way in past. Solicitor Coulatti responded advising there is nothing prohibiting Council voting this way, unless majority requests to vote individually. Council Delgado opposed the motion to approve individuals' appointment/reappointment as a group vote. Roll call requested, resulting in 8 Yes and 1 No (Delgado) to appoint/reappoint individuals as listed with position(s). Motion carries.

## **Commission and Board Appointments and Reappointments**

Planning Commission

A motion was made by Council Maritz and seconded by Council Walker to reappoint/appoint the Planning Commission as follows:

i. Mr. Kenneth Perl, Chairman (2024)

ii. Mr. Daniel Priddy (2023)

iii. Mr. James Levondosky (2023)

- iv. Ms. Tracey Pedersen (2022)
- v. Ms. Stacey Dick (2022) New Appointment

Council Delgado requested clarification of members' appointments/reappointments, as Ms. Stacey Dick's appointment was never voted on previously by Council. President Krisby requested roll call regarding Ms. Dick's 2 year appointment on the Planning Commission, resulting in 7 Yes and 2 No (Harvey, Delgado). Motion carries to appoint Ms. Dick to the Planning Commission for a 2 year term, ending 2022.

<u>Civil Service Commission</u> A motion was made by Council Maritz and seconded by Council Walker to reappoint the Civil Service Commission as follows: i. Nicholas Radoycis (2026) ii. Kathy Evich (2024) iii. George Mosko (2022) iv. (Alternate an filled at this time)

iv. (Alternate unfilled at this time)

Motion was adopted by acclamation.

Zoning Hearing Board A motion was made by Council Myers and seconded by Council Maritz to reappoint the Zoning Heard Board as follows: i.Tim Procak (2023) ii. Julia Palmer (2022) iii. Nick Radoycis (2021) Motion was adopted by acclamation. A motion was made by Council Mixter and seconded by Council Myers to reappoint Weiss, Burkhardt, Kramer, LLC as Borough Solicitor. Motion was adopted by acclamation.

A motion was made by Council Harvey and seconded by Council Myers to reappoint NIRA Consulting Engineers as Borough Engineer. Motion was adopted by acclamation.

A motion was made by Council Maritz and seconded by Council Walker to designate Gazette 2.0 and the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette of general circulation for legal advertising. Motion was adopted by acclamation.

A motion was made by Council Myers and seconded by Vice-President Evich to designate PNC Bank and First National Bank as official borough depositories for 2020. Motion was adopted by acclamation.

A motion was made by Council Maritz and seconded by Vice-President Evich to adjourn the meeting. Meeting adjourned by President Krisby.